Wrath of Storms (Book 2 of The Raincatcher’s Ballad) By Steven McKinnon

A girl with terrifying powers. An assassin battling his bloodlust. And an ancient evil stirring…

Serena’s fearsome power is growing stronger. After conning her way aboard a luxury airship in search of clues about her past, she walks straight into a sky pirate’s trap. But after her powers are unleashed and apocalyptic visions invade her mind, Serena realises the greatest threat may be herself…

As Damien Fieri struggles against his bloodlust, connections in high places conspire to keep his killer instincts sharp. He’d love to confront the clandestine forces that turned him into a living weapon—but can he find a way to do it that doesn’t shed more blood?

Can Serena and Damien bend their powers for good, or will they become dangerous pawns in a much deadlier game?

Wrath of Storms is the second book in The Raincatcher’s Ballad epic fantasy series. If you like gritty adventure, dangerous magic, and page-turning battles, then you’ll love Steven McKinnon’s expansive saga.

My review of The Fury Yet to Come

My review of Symphony of the Wind

My Review

I was sent a digital copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Steven!

Wrath of Storms continues the story which began in Symphony of the Wind a couple of weeks after the action left off, with Serena and her found family Tyson Gallows, Myriel and Enoch now travelling by airship towards the skyport where they hope to meet up with songstress Genevieve Couressa on the pleasure cruise airship The Queen of the North and then to travel with her to Ryndara.

It isn’t long before the action we’ve come to expect from Steven McKinnon kicks in and they are beset by sky pirates led by the fearsome Scalpel, otherwise known as Helena tal Ventris, who Serena’s old crew mate, Tiera Martel, used to run with and is once more a member of their crew. Bring on the swashbuckling!! As in Symphony, the action goes from strength to strength and you will be kept on the edge of your seat for most of the book, with McKinnon’s skillful writing.

We finally get to find out more about indestructible Damien who was a bit of an enigma in Book 1 – I really enjoyed discovering his back story, which was told partly via flashbacks from four years prior to the main story.

Serena is coming into her powers and getting better at controlling them. She is becoming quite the scary monster herself.

The action flits between our heroes and the city of Dalthea they left behind, where a mysterious group called the Lightbearers has come into being and are committing acts of terrorism and then killing themselves, apparently at the behest of a shady character called The Judge.

Valentine is back – she was a favourite of mine in Book 1 and is still a great character, with her southern drawl and soldierly instincts. She has a strong moral compass and is very brave. She needs to be, as she is up against an old enemy in the form of the undead wraiths and her lover’s murderer – the monster known as Korvan is back too – albeit with a new identity. Another old enemy, Pyron Thackeray is also back. Dalthea is drowning in corruption, water supplies are poisoned and a new outbreak of deadly bloodlung is upon the city.

Themes of class inequality and sexism are rife within this book. The pirates are mostly women and aim to kill the King of Ryndara, raze his palace to the ground and start a new republic where women are equal to men. Girl Power to the Max! Unfortunately they have an increasingly insane leader in Ventris and are rather too violent, so that most of them have to be put down by Gallows and gang. Such a shame – a society led by female pirates sounds rather appealing to me…

There were sequences in this book that reminded me of Mission Impossible with both Damien and Gallows seeming like indestructible superheroes and then in other sections I was reminded of Indiana Jones – particularly in Musa’s temple where they had a kind of riddle to solve to find their way forward.

If you enjoyed Symphony of the Wind I would urge you to continue the journey with Wrath of Storms – it is equally exciting, well-written, and there are more interesting geographical locations to discover and intriguing characters to get to know. I can’t wait to read the final installment in this trilogy: Choir of the Damned.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | goodreads

About the Author

Symphony of the Wind is Steven McKinnon’s first fiction novel, and is Book One of The Raincatcher’s Ballad. The Fury Yet To Come is a prequel novella set in the same world.

His first book, the true-life tale Boldly Going Nowhere, was released in 2015.

Steven was born in the bathroom of a Glasgow flat in the year 1986. He has since moved out.

To get the Raincatcher’s Ballad prequel novella — The Fury Yet To Come — for free, sign up to the author’s newsletter at http://subscribe.stevenmckinnon.net/

Twitter: @SHRMcKinnon

Related Posts

2 thoughts on “Wrath of Storms (Book 2 of The Raincatcher’s Ballad) By Steven McKinnon

  1. Pingback: Choir of the Damned (Book 3 of The Raincatcher’s Ballad) By Steven McKinnon – Sue's Musings

  2. Pingback: March of the Sequels – Steven McKinnon | Sue's Musings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s