ARC Review: Creation (Why Odin Drinks, #1) by Bjørn Larssen

In the beginning there was confusion.

Ever woken up being a God, but not knowing how to God properly? Your brothers keep creating mosquitoes and celery and other, more threatening weapons. What can your ultimate answer be – the one that will make you THE All-Father and them, at best, the All-Those-Uncles-We-All-Have-But-Don’t-Talk-About? 

“FML! The answer’s why I drink!” – Odin

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Thomas Hobbes of Malmesbury, and Mrs Brown’s Boys.

Add to goodreads


My Review

I was given a digital ARC of Creation by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Bjørn!

Creation is a short novella, which details the creation of everything by Norse god Odin, and his brothers Vili and Ve. Its irreverent humour is refreshing and makes for many laugh out loud moments. It was an absolute blast to read!

The three gods are new to the world and to creating things, they are learning as they go along. Tripping over tree roots and one-upping each other in terms of the size of the creations they make. These gods are getting carried away with their newly discovered skills and creating all manner of things just because they can: a tree with needles instead of leaves that throws cone things down onto your head as you pass underneath? Why? Who needs that?

Celery? No one appreciates that one.

Odin tries to restore some kind of order over the proceedings and gets increasingly stressed!

Determined to do better than his brother’s invention of celery to put an end to his hunger, Odin invents a cow: “You can drink from it.” he pronounces much to the cow’s consternation. When he adds that you can wrap it’s skin around you to keep warm and eat what’s inside, the cow’s outrage increases.

Odin philosophizes about what makes a thing alive and whether it is OK to eat such things. Vili continues making pretty things and Ve makes things that cause pain and destruction.

Chaos ensues until a tragedy occurs and gives the gods pause. Then Odin turns introspective while considering that actions have consequences – even those of the gods…

Bjørn Larssen is a very talented comedic writer. His timing is perfect and the hilarity flows so well that you can read this novella in one sitting. This is the funniest book I’ve read for a long time and belongs on the shelves with Pratchett and Adams. If you are a fan of surreal, absurd humour you will love it!

I cannot wait to read the next installment in this series.


About the Author

Bjørn Larssen is a Norse heathen made in Poland, but mostly located in a Dutch suburb, except for his heart which he lost in Iceland. Born in 1977, he self-published his first graphic novel at the age of seven in a limited edition of one, following this achievement several decades later with his first book containing multiple sentences and winning awards he didn’t design himself. His writing is described as ‘dark’ and ‘literary’, but he remains incapable of taking anything seriously for more than 60 seconds.

Bjørn has a degree in mathematics and has worked as a graphic designer, a model, a bartender, and a blacksmith (not all at the same time). His hobbies include sitting by open fires, dressing like an extra from Vikings, installing operating systems, and dreaming about living in a log cabin in the north of Iceland. He owns one (1) husband and is owned by one (1) neighbourhood cat.

Readers’ Favorite Gold Medal winner (‘Storytellers’)
2020 Stabby Award Nominee (‘Children’)

Find out more about Bjørn at http://www.bjornlarssen.com


Related Posts


2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Creation (Why Odin Drinks, #1) by Bjørn Larssen

  1. Pingback: #Norsevember – Cover Credentials: D.W. Ross and Bjørn Larssen | Sue's Musings

  2. Pingback: Comedic Fantasy Round-up | Sue's Musings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s